Log in to check your private messages
The Wrath of Darth Maul
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The EUCantina Forums Forum Index » The Expanded Universe: Literature & Media View previous topic :: View next topic  
The Wrath of Darth Maul
 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:49 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Alan Skywalker V
Master
Master

Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 599

A preview of this book somehow ended up on Amazon. I read the first two pages and stopped; I thought I was going to throw up.

Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


SO disappointed. TCW has screwed Maul so much I can't take it anymore. Now that influence is creeping elsewhere! Needless to say this is NOT a book I will be picking up, and I'm seriously considering junking TCW as well. I kept going back and forth on the issue before finally deciding to accept TCW, but now, with this pathetic excuse for a book that clearly shows TCW's influence, I have lost my grudging respect for the show.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:29 am Reply with quote  
Message
  DannikJerriko
EUC Staff
EUC Staff

Joined: 09 Nov 2011
Posts: 1204
Location: Nirn

#facepalm

Is this going to be a blatantly and intentionally non-canon story?
_________________
There's always a bigger fish - Qui Gon Jinn.

You shall learn that history is an intricate weaving of many events. No one thing can be understood without the proper context.

The best techniques are passed on by the survivors.


View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:34 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Alan Skywalker V
Master
Master

Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 599

It doesn't appear that it's going to be non canon. I wish it was; its an insult to the existing canon and has no plce in it!


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:38 am Reply with quote  
Message
  DannikJerriko
EUC Staff
EUC Staff

Joined: 09 Nov 2011
Posts: 1204
Location: Nirn

Jesus... Who's writing it? We'll have to see how TCW does Maul, and if that's different to this, we can deem this non-canon. Even though both are an insult.
_________________
There's always a bigger fish - Qui Gon Jinn.

You shall learn that history is an intricate weaving of many events. No one thing can be understood without the proper context.

The best techniques are passed on by the survivors.


View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:42 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Alan Skywalker V
Master
Master

Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 599

Ryder Windham wrote this; its a YA book in the vein of The Life of Luke Skywalker; The Rise and Fall of Darth Vader; and The Life and Legend of Obi-Wan Kenobi. It's set to come out in just a few weeks.


View user's profile Send private message

Re: The Wrath of Darth Maul
 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:52 am Reply with quote  
Message
  darthrevan1
Knight
Knight

Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 442

Alan Skywalker V wrote:
A preview of this book somehow ended up on Amazon. I read the first two pages and stopped; I thought I was going to throw up.

Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


SO disappointed. TCW has screwed Maul so much I can't take it anymore. Now that influence is creeping elsewhere! Needless to say this is NOT a book I will be picking up, and I'm seriously considering junking TCW as well. I kept going back and forth on the issue before finally deciding to accept TCW, but now, with this pathetic excuse for a book that clearly shows TCW's influence, I have lost my grudging respect for the show.


So finally we get the story of how Maul survived Naboo. Of vourse you do know that

Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)

_________________
"You see that I was right, now, dont you?. The truth is written in blood"


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:08 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Life Is The Path
Master
Master

Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 3892
Location: In a galaxy far, far - No, I'm behind you! Got you! Boo!

I knew a book like this had to be coming at some point. I'm just surprised it happened rather quickly, and that it'll be a YA book. Regardless, I won't be reading it. I've stayed away from young reader and young adults SW books (I have to draw the line somewhere), and won't be planning on breaking my rule over this.
_________________
I am a Star Wars fan. That doesn't mean that I hate or love Jar Jar. That doesn't mean I hate or love Lucas, or agree or disagree 100% with him. That doesn't mean I prefer the PT over the OT, or vice versa. That doesn't mean I hate the EU, or even love all of it (or even read all of it). These are not prerequisites. Being a man is not a prerequisite. Being a geek is not a prerequisite. The only prerequisite is that I love something about Star Wars. I am a Star Wars fan.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:23 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  darthrevan1
Knight
Knight

Joined: 18 Nov 2011
Posts: 442

Yes I am the same. I havent read one yet and wont be starting now
_________________
"You see that I was right, now, dont you?. The truth is written in blood"


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:17 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  VileZero
Master
Master

Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 816
Location: Maryland

Leave it to TCW to continue mucking things up royally. Ah well.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 3:26 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Crash Override
Master
Master

Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 1962

Technically this doesn't screw anything up; people just don't like it.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:00 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Darth_Henning
Master
Master

Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 525
Location: Canada

Crash Override wrote:
Technically this doesn't screw anything up; people just don't like it.


I'll reserve judgement until I read the book, but Ive got to say, there's no logic behind this, and I suspect that it is going to make a lot of things not make snese.

We'll see. George should never have been allowed to do TCW IMHO, he's completely ignoring everything.


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:24 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Alan Skywalker V
Master
Master

Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 599

I could take it if it wasn't for TCW and what it's done.

When Maul fell down the melting pit in TPM, he was DEAD. He'd been sliced in half; if a normal human had been injured like that and had no hope of medical assisstance, he would have died almost immediately. Even if he did get med assisstance, doctors still wouldn't have been able to help.

Yes, yes, I know Maul is a Sith, but this strains credulity to the breaking point.

I'm sorry, but this book is utter hogwash.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:32 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  VileZero
Master
Master

Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 816
Location: Maryland

Crash Override wrote:
Technically this doesn't screw anything up; people just don't like it.


You misunderstand. I don't care about continuity, I just think it's utterly stupid. And it is.


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:40 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  DannikJerriko
EUC Staff
EUC Staff

Joined: 09 Nov 2011
Posts: 1204
Location: Nirn

VileZero wrote:
I don't care about continuity,


You may want to reword that before everyone launches on you like a pack of angry Nexu Wink
_________________
There's always a bigger fish - Qui Gon Jinn.

You shall learn that history is an intricate weaving of many events. No one thing can be understood without the proper context.

The best techniques are passed on by the survivors.


View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Re: The Wrath of Darth Maul
 PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:57 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  illogicalRogue2
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 2854
Location: ....last know presence was near the Tingel Arm..

Alan Skywalker V wrote:
A preview of this book somehow ended up on Amazon. I read the first two pages and stopped; I thought I was going to throw up.

Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


SO disappointed. TCW has screwed Maul so much I can't take it anymore. Now that influence is creeping elsewhere! Needless to say this is NOT a book I will be picking up, and I'm seriously considering junking TCW as well. I kept going back and forth on the issue before finally deciding to accept TCW, but now, with this pathetic excuse for a book that clearly shows TCW's influence, I have lost my grudging respect for the show.


Interesting. Just wait till you read Darth Plagueis.....
_________________

-Bring on your thousands, one at a time or all in a rush. I don't give a damn. None shall pass.
-
-To become a Jedi, it is not the Force one must learn to control but oneself.
-
-Podcasts: Star Wars Beyond the Films, The Star Wars Report, & EUCast


View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The EUCantina Forums Forum Index » The Expanded Universe: Literature & Media

Page 1 of 9
All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Display posts from previous:

  

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights 2 by Scott Stubblefield