Log in to check your private messages
Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Discussion
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 31, 32, 33 ... 37, 38, 39  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The EUCantina Forums Forum Index » Gaming View previous topic :: View next topic  
 PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 1:22 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Salaris Vorn
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Posts: 2253
Location: New York, USA

glad to be able to help! Very Happy I appologize that it didn't occur to me to mention it until I saw the screenshot. Embarassed

And here is the promised screenshot of Guilhem (embarassingly I kept taking screenshots but had no idea where the folder was)
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)

_________________


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:16 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

For the quickbars, I have number 1 on the bottom, #3 on the left, and #4 on the right. 3 and 4 don't have quickbind keys. I use those for Tank or Healing powers (as needed), Heroic Moments, Buffs, Dispels (freeing myself from a spell), Quick Travel, and Medkits. #2 is hidden; I use the arrow next to #1 to bring it up, and I only keep the things that I don't use in combat ever (switching lightsaber stance, sprinting, switching gun barrels, etc.)
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:43 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Salaris Vorn
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Posts: 2253
Location: New York, USA

Taral-DLOS wrote:
3 and 4 don't have quickbind keys.


actually i believe you can set those quickbars to have keys. They aren't set by default but in one of the preference menus (probably under a controls umbrella menu) and then set whatever key you want for quickbars 3 & 4. I believe you can do this with all quickbars to set up whatever key bindings you wish.

Also I recently discovered that the game supports a "toggle movement" button that you can use to move your character forward without having to hold down the move forward key the whole time. I'm not sure what the default button is (you can check in the movement key binding menu) but it is very helpful if you are trying to chat during a long trip from A to B without having to stop every time you want to type something.
_________________


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:25 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Mara Jade Skywalker
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 5632
Location: Beyond Shadows

Salaris Vorn wrote:
...but it is very helpful if you are trying to chat during a long trip from A to B without having to stop every time you want to type something.


Ah-ha! So that's how you were speedering and typing at the same time the other day! And here I was thinking you perfected the "pilot with right hand using mouse, type with left hand using keys" tactic. Sneaky. Wink
_________________

"It's not about the legacy you leave, it's about the life you live." ~Mara Jade Skywalker



View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:57 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Salaris Vorn
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Posts: 2253
Location: New York, USA

Mara Jade Skywalker wrote:

Ah-ha! So that's how you were speedering and typing at the same time the other day! And here I was thinking you perfected the "pilot with right hand using mouse, type with left hand using keys" tactic. Sneaky. Wink


I did try the pilot with right hand, type with left but let's just say it didn't go well. I then looked for other solutions to my problem and there it was, right under my nose in the control menu! and you know me, i like stealth and doing sneaky things. Wink

I did manage to crash into a few rocks and trees and had a few other *typing typing, look at road* "oh frakk" *swerves with mouse just in time* moments. So I'm still working on the implimentation of my new discovery.
_________________


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:29 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

Salaris Vorn wrote:
Taral-DLOS wrote:
3 and 4 don't have quickbind keys.


actually i believe you can set those quickbars to have keys. They aren't set by default but in one of the preference menus (probably under a controls umbrella menu) and then set whatever key you want for quickbars 3 & 4. I believe you can do this with all quickbars to set up whatever key bindings you wish.

Also I recently discovered that the game supports a "toggle movement" button that you can use to move your character forward without having to hold down the move forward key the whole time. I'm not sure what the default button is (you can check in the movement key binding menu) but it is very helpful if you are trying to chat during a long trip from A to B without having to stop every time you want to type something.


Sorry I was unclear. I meant that Quickbar 3 and 4 on my settings don't have keys. I never bothered to bind them. Seemed more complicated than it was worth lol. Even if it's easy, I don't mind them unbound. In most cases they're non-combat powers used for healing (medkits for personal use, healing powers for my Bounty Hunter healer, etc.) or tanking (Taunt, Backhand, etc.)
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:21 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Salaris Vorn
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Posts: 2253
Location: New York, USA

Ok here's a question for everyone: between quest awards and armors you get at vendors I have found no shortage of modifiable armor for all my slots except belts and bracers. Thus far I found that the only place I can buy belts are the fleet commendation vendor and outside of the GTN I haven't seen any source for bracers.

Am I missing something or are these two armor pieces just incredibly rare to find as modifiable armor?
_________________


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:38 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

Salaris Vorn wrote:
Ok here's a question for everyone: between quest awards and armors you get at vendors I have found no shortage of modifiable armor for all my slots except belts and bracers. Thus far I found that the only place I can buy belts are the fleet commendation vendor and outside of the GTN I haven't seen any source for bracers.

Am I missing something or are these two armor pieces just incredibly rare to find as modifiable armor?


I don't think I've ever had moddable bracers or belts.

But if you're having trouble finding it at vendors or through quests, I recommend the GTN.
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:44 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

So I discovered a good way to get money in the game.

I personally don't like crafting. I've had trouble figuring it out. It seems like the things I can craft are always inferior to the things I already have. So I decided to minimize crafting on several characters, and instead choose gathering skills.

My newest toon, an Imperial Agent (I unlocked Sith Pureblood race, and made an agent that kind of looks like Nightcrawler, so I named him Nightcrahler; all my toons have AH somewhere in them) has only gathering skills. I gave him Slicing (which means he can collect lockboxes around the map, which often contain money cases), Scavenging (you can scavenge debris around the map, but also from the bodies of large droids you kill), and Archaeology (collecting crystals and relics). I can then mail the things I get from scavenging/archaeology to the other characters who have crafting skills.

Or I can just sell everything I gather on either the GTN or to vendors. Money!
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:03 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Mara Jade Skywalker
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 5632
Location: Beyond Shadows

The 9/7 patch has really messed up my game. I haven't had any lag issues since figuring out my settings early on, and now it's bad enough that I no longer look forward to playing. Anyone else start experiencing issues after the patch?
_________________

"It's not about the legacy you leave, it's about the life you live." ~Mara Jade Skywalker



View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:16 am Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

I haven't had any issues, but someone I was talking to in-game did. She was standing near an item I needed to click for a mission, and I asked politely if I could use it, and she said yes, that she was waiting for lag to stop.

There should be a new patch soon though. They tend to happen on Tuesdays.
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:37 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Mara Jade Skywalker
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 5632
Location: Beyond Shadows

Well I certainly hope a new patch fixes things. But tonight I'll investigate further, I haven't really had time yet. I've heard turning shadows off completely does wonders, but I think I may have already done that...
_________________

"It's not about the legacy you leave, it's about the life you live." ~Mara Jade Skywalker



View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:06 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Taral-DLOS
Master
Master

Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: Ontario, Canada

I was on the SWTOR forums earlier, and it's a known bug that they're working on fixing. A lot of people complained. There's a patch coming tomorrow (probably in the early post-midnight/pre-4am morning).
_________________
"I'm...from Earth."

-Sparks Nevada, Marshal on Mars

"Who cares what evil lurks in the hearts of men!"
"Unless evil's carrying the Martini tray, darling."
-Frank and Sadie Doyle


View user's profile Send private message

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:25 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Mara Jade Skywalker
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 5632
Location: Beyond Shadows

Well awesome, that's good to hear. Smile
_________________

"It's not about the legacy you leave, it's about the life you live." ~Mara Jade Skywalker



View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:55 pm Reply with quote  
Message
  Salaris Vorn
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 02 Feb 2008
Posts: 2253
Location: New York, USA

well I don't know if the patch fixes the bug you're experiencing Mara but they do have an official thread for reporting the bug:

http://www.swtor.com/community/showthread.php?t=529811

Specifically they ask you to post your DxDiag info if you are experiencing the bug to help them track down what may be causing the issue.
_________________


View user's profile Send private message

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The EUCantina Forums Forum Index » Gaming

Page 32 of 39
All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 31, 32, 33 ... 37, 38, 39  Next

Display posts from previous:

  

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights 2 by Scott Stubblefield